Rochester School for the Deaf Newspaper Collection

Windows to Rochester by the Rochester School for the Deaf (1984)

In 1984, the students and faculty members of the Rochester School for the Deaf published a book containing articles and news stories from the School’s newspapers which had been printed between 1881-1934. It contained over 310 stories that captured historical events related to the Lower Falls Gorge and its history and the activities of the 14621 neighborhoods that previous students had written about. One newspaper report, for example, wrote about Helen Keller’s visit to the School (see pages 112-113) in 1926. The entire book is a unique and memorable collection full of valuable insights into the history of Rochester that will amaze readers.

PART 1
PART 2
PART 3

From the collection of the Local History and Genealogy Division, Rochester Public Library.

ITEM DONOR \ SUPPORTER

Central Library of Rochester & Monroe County

The Central Library of Rochester & Monroe County consists of two buildings, the Rundel Memorial Library building, opened in 1936, and the Bausch & Lomb Public Library Building, opened in 1997. Located in the heart of Downtown Rochester, NY, at 115 South Avenue, the library offers the residents of the City and County a large collection of books, (both print and electronic) magazines, music, movies and more. In addition to its collection of materials, the Central Library provides quiet study spaces, public meeting rooms, a variety of free programs and opportunities for community engagement.

115 South Avenue
Rochester, NY 14604
(585) 428-7300
TDD: (585) 428-8023
Website: roccitylibrary.org

HOURS
Mon-Wed-Fri-Sat 10am–4pm
Tues-Thurs 10am-6pm
Sunday Closed